GEO4000W - Geology Honours

160 credits at NQF level 8

Entry Requirements:

A BSc degree with a major in Geology, first qualifying courses in Chemistry and Mathematics. A first qualifying course in Physics is recommended. The Senate may accept other courses as being equivalent to these and this criterion will be applied when considering science graduates from other universities. Registrations are limited to 16 and acceptance will be at the discretion of the Head of Department, who will consider quality of final year results, material covered in undergraduate curriculum, and referee reports in making decisions. Preference will be given to UCT graduates who meet the course entry requirements.

Course Outline:

Students are required to take 7 compulsory modules which cover the following subject areas: Geochemistry (including Isotope and Marine Geochemistry), Geophysics, Economic Geology, Igneous, Metamorphic and Mantle Petrology, Palaeontology, Quaternary Geology, Petroleum Geology, Sedimentary Basins, Tectonics, Geological Data Interpretation & Analysis, and Scientific Communication. In addition, each student is required to undertake a supervised research project. Choice of research project requires the approval of the Honours course co-ordinator and Head of Department. All students are required to attend a two week fieldtrip held during the year.