PHY4000W - Physics Honours

160 credits at NQF level 8

Entry Requirements:

The entrance requirement is a BSc degree with a major in Physics. Acceptance will be at the discretion of the Head of Department who will consult the Honours course convenor. Criteria for acceptance include a pass of 60% in PHY3004W, or equivalent; and a pass of 60% in MAM2000W or MAM2046W, or equivalent; and in cases where the Head of Department deems it necessary, favourable referee reports. Enrolment is limited to 15 students. Preference may be given to UCT graduates who meet the course entry requirements.

Course Outline:

The Honours course in Physics consists of several modules. Each student needs to design a module package which sums up to at least 12 units, and not more than 14 units. The Research Project (3 units) is compulsory. The compulsory modules (1 unit each) are: Electromagnetism 1, Quantum Mechanics 1 and Statistical Physics. At least five further modules (1 unit each) must be chosen from: Electromagnetism 2, Quantum Mechanics 2, Classical Mechanics, Computational Physics, Particle Physics, Nuclear Physics, Relativistic Quantum Mechanics, Quantum Field Theory, and Solid State Physics. Students are strongly encouraged to include both Electromagnetism 2 and Quantum Mechanics 2 in their module choice. The course starts with a compulsory non-credit bearing module dealing with mathematical tools and skills, and aspects of physics education. Furthermore, the course can be complemented by physics-related modules offered by the Departments of Astronomy, and Mathematics and Applied Mathematics, for example. The choice of modules and research project must be approved by the Head of Physics in consultation with the of Physics is presently reviewing the curriculum of PHY4000W.